An Ode to Special K

special k.jpg

Oh, Special K, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways…

Special K, primarily Special K with Red Berries, has been my favorite cereal for as long as I can remember. This can probably be attributed to the fact that it was my mom’s cereal. While I was being bought boxes of Cheerios or Raisin Bran, my mom got to eat Special K. And the forbidden fruit–red berries in this case–tastes the sweetest.

Special K with Red Berries has the perfect bran to fruit ratio. When you get sick of the bran, you can break up the flavor with a nice strawberry taste. When the strawberries start to become too overpowering you just scoop up some bran. Special K with Red Berries is easily one of the best duos in breakfast food history.

The cereal is sweet but healthy. So many breakfast foods that are marketed for weight loss or heart health or an abundance of vitamins taste like crap, quite frankly. They have no flavor and are the consistency of cardboard. As if mornings aren’t tough enough they expect you to welcome your day with that garbage? Pass. Instead, I indulge in a nice, flavorful bowl of Special K and I’m ready to take on the day. If you’re looking for a delicious breakfast, it’s definitely a better alternative to the high calorie stack of pancakes or even a bowl of Lucky Charms.

I shall but love thee even better after dinner. Special K can be a great dessert or evening snack. Its sweetness makes for a great pallet cleanser and, again, you aren’t going to go over your daily calorie intake unless you eat the whole box in one sitting (which I could probably do easily).

Special K is the best breakfast cereal hands down. I’d give my vote to Special K with Red Berries specifically, but there are an abundance of options to choose from. It’s versatile, it’s delicious, it’s healthy. How can you go wrong?

photo credit from Kellogg’s India

One thought on “An Ode to Special K

Leave a Reply

