To Read or Not to Read

I’ve loved reading ever since I was young. However, I didn’t really get into reading until I read the Twilight series.

People always have really strong opinions about this series. They either love it or hate it. I had a really intense obsession with the series all through middle school. I had every poster and piece of memorabilia humanly possible. I can’t imagine how much money I spent, to be honest.

I have since read it back (several times) and didn’t enjoy it nearly as much.

However, it was the Twilight series that ultimately got me into the Harry Potter series.

Unlike someone, I didn’t really get to grow up with the series. I didn’t read it until I got into high school after writing it off for years.

The kid I babysit for now just finished reading the series and it was awesome reliving the series with him. He is obsessed. He asks me about a million questions per day about my favorite books, favorite characters, favorite scenes, etc. His mom is actually a published author, so she instilled a love of reading early.

Reading can be really amazing and powerful and I hope it isn’t lost in the age of technology.

Leave a Reply

